I’m still holding out for the impromptu dancing in the streets though

Finishing residency is a lot like having a birthday.  You expect to feel different…older, more mature, accomplished.  But, really, you just feel like you did the day before:  tired and a little gassy.1

Last Thursday was my final day of residency.  And after seven PLUS2 years of bustin’ my balls, I kind of expected a parade, a speech, a couple mojitos, and possibly even some impromptu dancing in the streets.  Sure, there was a formal graduation dinner a few weeks ago at a country club wherein us graduates and our friends and family were gathered (including my recently widowed Mamacusa and my remarried, recently babied3 father & his wife, none of whom had been in each other’s presence since my wedding…Hello, Awkward, we haven’t had enough of you this year, have a seat right here between my divorced biological parents!) and fed mediocre food while some attendings said a smattering of vaguely nice things about all of us before handing us diplomas…but that was boring.  I’d rather have the parade with the mojitos.

Imagine my disappointment when I exited the hospital on Thursday afternoon and there was no fucking marching band.  Boo.  Don’t get me wrong, I was ecstatic…I just wanted a witness!  Can a girl surgeon no longer in need of attending supervision get a witness up in here?

I got a witness.  I had celebratory frozen yogurt with a favorite Ho of mine (Ho Fro-Yo?) on the way home and then, later that night, had beer and sushi with The Brit and some homies.  It’s a well-known fact that, if you can’t have a parade, the second best way to commemorate finishing seven years of surgical training is to eat dairy and then, later, eat salmon eggs over rice all wrapped up in seaweed.  Word.

Friday was my first official day of Not Being A Resident and the only two things I had on my agenda after waking up and questioning the prior night’s diet choices were: 1) tackle the laundry pile and 2) make mojito mix for mass consumption.  There was to be a party in my honor at a bar in our barrio the following day and the bartender informed us in advance that mojitos were too labor intensive to make.  Sorry, but the one thing La Cubana Gringa needs at a party in her honor at a bar is mojitos.  Luckily, I have a DNA-imbedded blueprint on my Cuban chromosome for the best mojito mix ever and it makes mass-mojito making easy and fun!

So, I spent Friday in my jammies, loading the washer, squeezing limes, rinsing mint, testing the mojito mix, and repeating.  This may explain why the laundry was fortified with citrus-minty freshness and the mojito mix might have had a sock in it.

Saturday, we partied with lots of amigos.  The theme:  SEVEN!!! FUCKING!! YEARS! CAN I GET A WITNESS?  It’s what I put on the Evite that I sent out to everyone…I figured that finishing general surgery residency was grounds for liberal usage of F-bombs, exclamation points!!! & CAPITAL FUCKING LETTERS!  Little did I know that The Brit would take that theme and emblaze it on custom made coasters, napkins, and specialty drink menus.  Also, he’d renamed the specialty drinks…a Mojito became a “Whipple” and a Moscow Mule became a “Colonoscopy.”  It’s a good thing it was an open bar, because otherwise, my friends might have been cognizant of the fact that they were asking the bartender to probe their colon or surgically excise their pancreas.  Yeah, you’re going to want some sedation for that.

All in all, I had a great time and this weekend was a great ending to seven long years.  I have a thoughtful husband and crazy, amazing (Cramazing!) friends and THAT is worth more than any parade.

1. Having two helpings of eggplant lasagna the night before was ill-advised and should be avoided at all costs in the future.
2. Remember, I had to work 3 weeks past graduation!
3. WTF?  Yeah, that’s what I said when my dad & his wife adopted a baby last August.

6 Responses to “I’m still holding out for the impromptu dancing in the streets though”


  1. 1 mamacusa July 20, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful party! Proud of you babe!
    love you

  2. 2 Gish July 22, 2010 at 2:25 am

    Congratulations are in order. Love the way you bring the OR stories alive. Keep blogging.

  3. 3 Carrie July 24, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    What an amazing accomplishment! Huge dancing-in-the-street-type of Congratulations to you!

  4. 4 jlafferty July 26, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Amazing accomplishment! Congrats!!!

  5. 5 lacubanagringa July 31, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Thanks gals! xoxo

  6. 6 Brown July 31, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Congratulations! I can only imagine what some of the floats would have looked like had there actually been a parade…..I suppose it’s never too late to change careers….


Leave a Reply

Hark!

The madness featured here is mine and mine alone. It does not, in any way, reflect the madness of my employers, colleagues, patients, nutty family, or my colorful friends. The privacy of my employers, colleagues, patients, nutty family and colorful friends is sacred & deeply respected, so no names. All words Copyright © la cubana gringa, no method, just madness 2006-2010. All comments © their authors. Don't steal; it's not nice. (And my Grandfather knows people.)

worldwide madness!!

blog stats

